H.R. No. 172

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On September 20, 2003, many proud graduates of John
J. Pershing Middle School and their family and friends are
gathering in Houston to celebrate the school's 75th anniversary,
and this momentous occasion is truly deserving of special
recognition; and

WHEREAS, Serving the communities of West University Place, Bellaire, Southside Place, Braes Heights, and Southgate, Pershing Middle School also counts among its talented students those from throughout the Houston Independent School District (HISD) who audition for its highly regarded fine arts/performing arts and pre-AP/GT magnet programs; and

WHEREAS, Among its many successful alumni are actors Jaclyn Smith and Dennis and Randy Quaid, HISD superintendent Kaye Stripling, and local television personality Marvin Zindler, who has been selected to serve as grand marshal of the parade kicking off the day's activities; additional events include fine arts and sports performances, class reunions, a student art sale, a silent auction, speeches, and a party for adult attendees; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the years, the graduates of Pershing Middle School have distinguished themselves as outstanding citizens and valuable members of their communities; in returning to pay tribute to their alma mater on its 75th anniversary, they acknowledge its deep and abiding influence in shaping their lives, and it is indeed fitting to recognize their impressive

H.R. No. 172

- 1 accomplishments as well as their loyalty to their school; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 4 Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby commemorate the 75th
- 5 anniversary of Pershing Middle School and extend to all
- 6 participants best wishes for an enjoyable event; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Wong

П	D	$N \cap$	172

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 172 was adopted by the House on August 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House