H.R. No. 277

WHEREAS, Martha Ann Moreland and Ron Hughes of Mineola have gone above and beyond the call of duty by organizing Operation "Cool Soldier," a grassroots campaign to help American soldiers in Iraq beat the heat; and WHEREAS, Ms. Moreland came up with the idea of shipping air-conditioning units to our fighting men and women after watching televised images of troops sweltering in the brutal Iraqi heat; after doing some preliminary research, she enlisted the aid of Mr. Hughes, owner of Hughes Appliance, and her friends at First Christian Church, and together they developed this intriguing plan; and WHEREAS, Members of the 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment of the 4th Infantry Division routinely experience 130-degree days and 100-degree nights, and the potential for heat-related illness among these soldiers is always a concern; fortunately, help is on the way in the form of several 7,000-BTU units that have been shipped to Iraq by Mr. Hughes's distributor; and WHEREAS, Ms. Moreland and Mr. Hughes, and the many individuals who have contributed to this worthy cause, are deserving of praise and recognition for their role in this unique undertaking; in true American fashion, this dynamic duo and the members of their community have implemented a creative solution to a problem that might otherwise have gone unaddressed, and it is a privilege to honor them for their dedication and commitment to helping the members of the 3rd Regiment; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor Martha Ann Moreland and Ron Hughes for their efforts in support of Operation "Cool Soldier" and commend them for their patriotism and generosity of spirit; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives. Hughes ______________________________ Speaker of the House I certify that H.R. No. 277 was adopted by the House on October 8, 2003, by a non-record vote. ______________________________ Chief Clerk of the House