H.R. No. 4

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, William Brett Batchelor of Troop 462 in Lorena has 2 attained the rank of Eagle Scout, and this accomplishment truly 3 merits special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant honor, bestowed on only a fraction of those who enter the scouting movement; since becoming a boy scout in 1999, Mr. Batchelor has earned 24 merit badges and has also held many key leadership positions, including those of quartermaster, instructor, and assistant senior patrol leader; he successfully completed his Eagle Scout project, for which he constructed a new scoreboard stand at the Lorena Little League Fields; and

WHEREAS, The son of proud parents Larry and Elaine Batchelor, Mr. Batchelor is a volunteer assistant coach with the local youth basketball program and a member of Lorena United Methodist Church, where he has participated in the choir, bell choir, and numerous youth group activities; currently serving as the liaison for the Lorena High School drama club, he is an accomplished musician as well who for three years has represented his school as a jazz band soloist in UIL competition; and

WHEREAS, In every one of his diverse endeavors, this fine young man has demonstrated outstanding ability and commitment, traits that will serve him well as he pursues his goal of becoming a foreign language instructor, and his significant contributions to his community are indeed deserving of commendation at this time;

H.R. No. 4

- 1 now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate William Brett
- 4 Batchelor on his receipt of the Eagle Scout insignia and extend to
- 5 him sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and,
- 6 be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Batchelor as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Mabry

H.R. No. 4

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 4 was adopted by the House on September 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House