H.R. No. 11

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For 27 years, Chief James Whittiker has ably served 1 2 the Winnsboro Police Department, and his retirement on March 1, 3 2004, caps an exemplary career in the field of law enforcement; and WHEREAS, A combat veteran of the Vietnam War, Chief Whittiker 4 5 joined the Winnsboro Police Department as a patrolman on July 1, 6 1976; he was promoted to sergeant on November 3, 1978, and was made 7 a captain on October 1, 1996; after briefly serving as acting chief, he was appointed by the city council to the position of police chief 8 in December of 1996; and 9 WHEREAS, Chief Whittiker is a native of Little Hope, Texas, 10 11 and a 1965 graduate of Winnsboro High School; the Winnsboro Area 12 Chamber of Commerce has duly recognized this distinguished citizen 13 with its Man of the Year award; and WHEREAS, In all his endeavors, Chief Whittiker has enjoyed 14 the love and support of his wife and fellow police officer, Tonya, 15 and retirement will undoubtedly afford him the opportunity to spend 16 more time with his family as well as to indulge in his favorite 17 18 leisure activities; and WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of his profession, 19

20 Chief Whittiker has earned the lasting respect and admiration of 21 his fellow officers and his community, and while his leadership 22 will be missed, the myriad contributions he leaves behind will not 23 soon be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

1

H.R. No. 11

Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Chief James Whittiker on his retirement from the Winnsboro Police Department and extend to him best wishes for continued happiness in the next chapter of his life; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Chief Whittiker as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 11

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 11 was adopted by the House on September 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House