H.R. No. 17

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, In commemoration of their 50th wedding anniversary,
Ray and Jane Blackwell of Midland enjoyed a Hawaiian cruise as well
as a family gathering at Possum Kingdom Lake; and

WHEREAS, On August 30, 1953, Mr. Blackwell and his bride, the former Norma Jane Thompson, were married in a ceremony held in O'Donnell; throughout the ensuing years, Mr. and Mrs. Blackwell have reared a fine family, which includes their three children, Kim Conley, Twyla Doty, and Stacey Blackwell, and 10 grandchildren; and

9 WHEREAS, After living in Quanah, Knox City, Vernon, Monahans, 10 and Pecos, the couple moved to Midland in 1982; now leading an 11 active retirement, Mrs. Blackwell enjoyed a notable career as an 12 educator that spanned 40 years, while Mr. Blackwell was employed 13 with the soil conservation service for 32 years and worked as a 14 Realtor for 10 years; and

WHEREAS, The Blackwells are today valued congregants of Golf Course Road Church of Christ and active in the Midland community; Mrs. Blackwell is a member of Delta Kappa Gamma and TSTA and Mr. Blackwell's civic involvement includes the local Lions, Optimist, and Kiwanis clubs; and

20 WHEREAS, Together, this devoted couple have shared the trials 21 and triumphs of five decades; their commitment to each other, to 22 their family, and their community gladdens the hearts of their 23 loved ones, and it is a pleasure to join in paying tribute to their 24 lasting union; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 17

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Ray and Jane 3 Blackwell on the memorable occasion of their 50th wedding 4 anniversary and extend to them best wishes for continued happiness; 5 and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Blackwell as an expression of high regard 8 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 17

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 17 was adopted by the House on September 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House