## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Officer Scott Stuart of the Carrollton Police 2 Department is recuperating from injuries sustained in the line of

duty on August 20, 2003, and his heroism serves as an inspiration to

4 his fellow peace officers and to all who know him; and

WHEREAS, Officer Stuart was part of an eight-member tactical team serving a high-risk narcotics search warrant when he came under attack; struck by three rounds of gunfire, he was able to gain safety with the help of a team member, and the suspects were taken into custody without further shots being fired; and

WHEREAS, An eight-year veteran of the police department, this esteemed professional has ably served the citizens of Carrollton in the roles of patrol officer, bicycle officer, field training officer, arrest tactics instructor, and tactical officer; in recognition of his steadfast commitment to his career and the welfare of local citizens, he has been accorded 32 commendations;

16 and

WHEREAS, Officer Stuart is a source of great pride to his loved ones, including his wife, April, and their two children; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his years on the force, Officer Stuart has established a record of meritorious service that is consistent with the highest ideals of the law enforcement profession, and it is a privilege to recognize him for his courage and devotion to protecting the public's safety; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

- 1 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Officer Scott
- 2 Stuart of the Carrollton Police Department for his heroism and
- 3 extend to him heartfelt best wishes for a rapid and full recovery;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Officer Stuart as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 67 was adopted by the House on September 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House