RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2003 marks a new chapter in the history of Spring Tabernacle, as congregants celebrate the opening of a contemporary worship center; and

WHEREAS, Founded on February 8, 1973, by Bishop C. G. Green and his family, the tabernacle has experienced tremendous growth since erecting its first sanctuary; over the years, the tabernacle expanded to include five acres, a second building to accommodate the growing membership, and a Family Life Center, complete with gymnasium, fellowship hall, kitchen, classrooms, and offices; and

WHEREAS, In 1996, Spring Tabernacle purchased an additional 45 acres on which "Samaritan Village" will be built; this noble endeavor will enable the church to better serve the needs of the community and will include a home for homeless children, a drug and alcohol recovery facility, and nursing care for the elderly; and

WHEREAS, The newest addition to the tabernacle campus is a spacious, state-of-the-art worship center capable of seating more than 2,000 people; blessed with warm fellowship and inspirational teaching, the congregation of Spring Tabernacle will continue to grow, and it is a pleasure to join in celebrating the completion of this important new building; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Bishop C. G. Green and the congregation of Spring Tabernacle and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas

3 House of Representatives.

Riddle

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Chavez Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Telford Dunnam Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 71 was adopted by the House on September 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House