H.R. No. 79

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Richmond's Lamar Little League All-Stars are to be 2 congratulated on their outstanding season and commended for earning 3 a berth in the 2003 Little League World Series, held August 15-24, 4 2003, in South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, and these young 5 ballplayers will undoubtedly represent the Lone Star State with 6 pride and dignity; and

7 WHEREAS, Lamar completed a five-game sweep of the Southwest 8 Regional Tournament by overcoming a 3-2 deficit to defeat Bryant 9 Little League of Arkansas 5-3 at Marvin Norcross Stadium in Waco; 10 this come-from-behind victory, decided by Brian Foster's three-run 11 homer in the bottom of the third inning, gave the Lamar All-Stars 12 their first-ever appearance in the Little League World Series; and

WHEREAS, Schooled in the fundamentals by team manager Jim Michalek, the Lamar All-Stars epitomized sportsmanship and teamwork throughout their season; Coach Michalek was ably assisted by fellow coaches Tim Hollek and Tom Stoudt, both of whom greatly contributed to the team's success; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Eli Sepulveda, Brady Rodgers,
Brandon Hollek, Marcus Martinez, Randol Grichuk, Jimmy Michalek,
Chris Smith, Brian Foster, Cody Robinson, Robert Psenka, Wayne
Willis, and Garrett Stoudt; and

22 WHEREAS, Earning the right to play in the Little League World 23 Series is a tremendous achievement earned through teamwork, superb 24 athleticism, and a tough competitive spirit, and these outstanding

1

1 young ballplayers truly deserve special recognition for this 2 accomplishment; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Richmond's Lamar Little League All-Stars and their coaches for advancing to the 2003 Little League World Series and extend to them best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

> Hegar Howard

H.R. No. 79

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 79

H.R. No. 79

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 79 was adopted by the House on September 16, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House