H.R. No. 80

By: Hegar

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of the El Campo Senior All-Stars 2 softball team have achieved excellence in their sport with a 3-1 3 victory over Pinery Park to claim third place in the 2003 Little 4 League World Series Championships in Kentucky; and

5 WHEREAS, After winning the state championship tournament, 6 the All-Stars won the regional tournament in Colorado to reach the 7 prestigious World Series competition; one win shy of an opportunity 8 to play for the top prize, this superb softball team racked up 15 9 strikeouts, eight hits, and three runs in its final game to claim 10 third place overall at the tournament; and

11 WHEREAS, The El Campo All-Stars demonstrated outstanding 12 sportsmanship and teamwork throughout the season, having been 13 schooled in the fundamentals by team manager Ronny Collins and 14 coaches Alonzo Gonzalez and Leroy Bram; and

WHEREAS, Team members include Megan Novak, Brittany Faas, Lauren Wells, Heather Kight, Kalie Prihoda, Julia Collins, Katie Kainer, Laura Kubala, Rachael Ryan, Natalie Kainer, Staci Gonzalez, and Cori Bram; and

WHEREAS, On August 20, 2003, these talented ballplayers were honored by the City of El Campo, the El Campo Chamber of Commerce, and their friends and family members with a parade and celebration at Evans Park, where the girls talked about their experiences and received congratulations for their impressive victory; and

24 WHEREAS, Earning the right to play in the World Series is a

1

H.R. No. 80

great accomplishment, one that has made the El Campo All-Stars a source of tremendous pride for their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the players,
manager, and coaches of the El Campo Senior All-Stars softball team
for their sterling performance in the 2003 Little League World
Series; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

2