H.R. No. 106

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Alex Labry of Burnet is retiring from his position 2 as photography manager for the Texas House of Representatives, and 3 his many years of valued service to this body indeed merit special 4 recognition; and

5 WHEREAS, An artist of tremendous talent, Mr. Labry captures 6 images that reflect the intrinsic beauty of life, and his unique 7 talent and keen eye are clearly evidenced through the photographic 8 medium; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Labry graduated with honors from St. Edward's 9 University before attending The University of Texas at Austin, 10 where he earned a master of fine arts degree in photography; during 11 12 his long and impressive career he has founded two companies, served 13 as assistant director of the PhotoWork Gallery & Lone Star Photographic Workshops and president of the Texas Photographic 14 Society, and taught photography as an adjunct professor at St. 15 Edward's University; and 16

WHEREAS, This esteemed gentleman parlayed his skill into a successful career as a freelance photographer by masterfully capturing life's most important milestones, his artistic accomplishment revealed through the camera lens; and

21 WHEREAS, In 1996, Mr. Labry began his distinguished tenure as 22 photography manager for the Texas House of Representatives, and 23 since that time he has set a standard of excellence that has earned 24 him the respect and admiration of his colleagues in the legislative

1

H.R. No. 106

1 community; and

2 WHEREAS, Duly recognized for his talent, Mr. Labry has 3 permanent collections on display at The University of Texas 4 Humanities Research Center, the Bibliotheque Nationale in Paris, 5 and the Musee Carnavalet in Paris, and his work has been exhibited 6 at museums across the Lone Star State; and

7 WHEREAS, He has garnered many accolades over the years, 8 including the Outstanding Photography Award and the Outstanding 9 Achievement Award from St. Edward's University and juror's awards 10 from the Texas Photographic Society, the Austin Visual Arts 11 Association, and the Hill Country Arts Foundation; and

12 WHEREAS, A devoted husband and father, Mr. Labry has been 13 supported in all of his endeavors by his wife, Suzanne Williams 14 Labry, and his three beloved daughters, Nicole Suzanne Labry, 15 Camille Anne Labry, and Claire St. John Labry; and

16 WHEREAS, Throughout the course of his career, Alex Labry has 17 captured people, places, and moments in time through his artistic 18 and accessible photographs, preserving timeless images in 19 perpetuity, and it is indeed appropriate that he be honored for his 20 impressive body of work as he steps down from his position as house 21 photography manager; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Alex Labry on his retirement as the manager of house photography and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

27

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

H.R. No. 106
1 prepared for Mr. Labry as an expression of high regard by the Texas
2 House of Representatives.

Goolsby

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 106

H.R. No. 106

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 106 was adopted by the House on September 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House