H.R. No. 108

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Since becoming a member of the Dallas City Council 2 in 1997, Lois G. Finkelman has served the people of the Metroplex 3 area with integrity, distinction, and compassion, and her extensive 4 achievements as an educator, community leader, and public servant 5 are indeed deserving of special recognition and commendation; and

6 WHEREAS, Ms. Finkelman is an alumna of Northwestern 7 University who has earned two postgraduate degrees at The University of Texas at Dallas, one in science education and one in 8 environmental science; she worked for many years as an educator in 9 Ohio and Texas before embarking on a successful career as a writer, 10 11 research assistant, and consultant, and during the 1980s and 1990s 12 she established herself as a leading North Texas authority in the fields of community relations and resource development planning; in 13 14 addition to creating land use studies, environmental impact studies, and impact assessments, Ms. Finkelman designed a wide 15 16 range of informational materials, workshop programs, and training seminars, and her work as a community liaison ultimately led her to 17 18 pursue a more prominent role in shaping public policy; and

WHEREAS, In addition to serving as a councilwoman for the City of Dallas, this accomplished Texan is a respected member of the Friends of the Dallas Police Advisory Board, the Parkland Hospital Public Health Development Committee, the Children's Medical Center Foundation Board of Trustees, the Greater Dallas Community Relations Council Advisory Board, the American Jewish Congress Board of Directors, and more; she also continues to promote

1

H.R. No. 108

responsible environmental policies in her work with the Texas Clean Air Working Group, the North Central Texas Council of Governments Air Quality Steering Committee, and the National League of Cities Steering Committee for Energy, Environment, and Natural Resources; and

6 WHEREAS, Ms. Finkelman's efforts in behalf of others have 7 earned her countless accolades over the years, including the 2002 8 Caring Spirit Civic Courage Award, presented by the American Cancer Society, and the 1997 Robert M. Artz Citizen Leadership Award, 9 presented by the National Recreation and Park Association; a 10 devoted wife and mother, she enjoys a rewarding marriage with her 11 12 husband of many years, Dr. Ross Finkelman, and takes immense pride in her three children, David, Karen, and Peter, as well as her four 13 14 grandsons, Jacob, Andrew, Lucas, and Julian; and she has shown 15 herself to be one of the Lone Star State's most active and admired civic leaders in each of her many endeavors, and it is with great 16 pleasure that the citizens of Texas join in paying tribute to her 17 illustrious career in public and community service; now, therefore, 18 be it 19

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 21 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor Dallas city 22 councilwoman Lois Finkelman and extend to her best wishes for 23 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Finkelman as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Goolsby

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 108

H.R. No. 108

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 108 was adopted by the House on September 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House