H.R. No. 116

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On September 26, 2003, the North Harris Montgomery 2 Community College District is celebrating the dedication of Cy-Fair

3 College, the district's fifth comprehensive college; and

WHEREAS, This fine new facility boasts a 443,000-square-foot campus located on 200 acres in northwest Harris County; an estimated 7,000 students have enrolled for the inaugural semester, and enrollment is eventually expected to double; and

WHEREAS, One of the largest higher education projects undertaken in the U.S. over the past decade, Cy-Fair College has the distinction of being the only comprehensive college built in this country in recent years; and

WHEREAS, Chancellor John E. Pickelman and President Diane K. Troyer have worked closely with the school's board of trustees to merge best teaching and learning practices with the college's state-of-the-art classrooms and labs, resulting in what is sure to be one of the area's most prestigious higher education resources; and

WHEREAS, With a curriculum that focuses on maximizing government investment through the use of business and community partnerships, Cy-Fair College is fully prepared to educate future generations of our nation's workforce, and the dedication of this new campus will undoubtedly usher in a period of outstanding educational opportunity for the school's students; now, therefore,

24 be it

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

H.R. No. 116

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby recognize the dedication of
Cy-Fair College and extend best wishes to Chancellor John E.
Pickelman, President Diane K. Troyer, board of trustees chair Larry
Shryock and his fellow board members, and the many other
individuals who have contributed to the establishment of this

exemplary community education facility.

7

Callegari Van Arsdale Bohac Elkins Hamric

H.R. No. 116

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 116 was adopted by the House on October 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House