By: Flynn H.R. No. 137

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dr. James Conrad of Texas A&M University--Commerce
has been selected as a recipient of the prestigious Spirit of Mayo

3 Award; and

6

7

10

11

12

13

17

23

WHEREAS, Named in honor of William L. Mayo, founder of Texas

5 A&M University--Commerce, the Spirit of Mayo Award recognizes

individuals who embody the credo "ceaseless industry, fearless

investigation, unfettered thought, and unselfish service to

8 others"; and

9 WHEREAS, Dr. Conrad is a graduate of Ohio State University,

where he earned master's and doctoral degrees in history; he began

his distinguished tenure at Texas A&M University--Commerce as a

history instructor and later became the school's archivist after

earning a master's degree in library science from Texas Woman's

14 University; and

WHEREAS, Active in a host of worthy organizations, Dr. Conrad

is a valued member of the American Library Association, East Texas

Historical Association, Hunt County Historical Commission, Texas

18 Oral History Association, and Texas State Historical Association;

19 he also contributes his time and talents as a board member of the

20 Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum in Greenville and the Cultural

21 Center at Cooper Lake; and

WHEREAS, This esteemed scholar has authored or coauthored 12

books on Texas history, written numerous journal articles, and

24 currently writes a column in the Herald-Banner; and

H.R. No. 137

- 1 WHEREAS, Dr. Conrad's distinguished scholarship and service
- 2 to the university make him a truly worthy recipient of the Spirit of
- 3 Mayo Award; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 5 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Dr. James
- 6 Conrad on receiving the Spirit of Mayo Award and extend to him
- 7 sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
- 8 further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Dr. Conrad as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.