H.R. No. 139

By: Gattis

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On September 28, 2003, Pastor R. Beicke and the 2 members of St. John Lutheran Church in Thorndale are celebrating 3 the church's 100th year of service to the community; and

WHEREAS, The Reverend Dr. August Wenzel, former district president of the Southern District, ALC, is involved in the special morning service, while three former pastors of the church--the Reverends Walter Miller, Mary Kaiser, and Al Hoerig, Jr.--are participants in the afternoon song and praise worship; and

9 WHEREAS, The congregation was formally organized on December 10 26, 1903, although services had been held in Detmold as far back as 11 January 1902; initially, the Thorndale congregation was part of a 12 three-community parish, including Bushdale and Sharp, served by 13 Bushdale pastor Carl Roth, who was instrumental in the founding of 14 St. John Lutheran Church; and

WHEREAS, A parsonage-chapel was built in 1909 in Thorndale, and the first church building was constructed in 1915 in Detmold; after it underwent remodeling in 1933 and in 1951, the congregation decided to relocate the entire church to Thorndale in 1959, and a new edifice was dedicated in 1963 at 315 N. Sixth Street; and

20 WHEREAS, Blessed with warm fellowship and inspirational 21 teaching, St. John Lutheran Church remains a tribute to the 22 commitment of its members, who have given generously of their time, 23 energy, and financial resources to ensure that it continues to 24 thrive as a house of worship; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 139

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Pastor R. 3 Beicke and the members of St. John Lutheran Church on the joyous 4 occasion of the church's centennial celebration and extend to all 5 those involved sincere best wishes for a memorable and fulfilling 6 observance; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.