H.R. No. 148

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2003 marks the 50th anniversary of the 2 founding of the Spring Volunteer Fire Department, and this special 3 milestone deserves legislative recognition; and

WHEREAS, Chartered in May 1953, the Spring Volunteer Fire 4 5 Department began operations with seven charter members, one 6 firehouse, and apparatus donated by other city departments; today the department has 130 members who operate 15 apparatus from five 7 8 stations, providing fire, search and rescue, extrication, hazardous material, and emergency medical services for more than 9 70,000 residents, as well as mutual aid services for surrounding 10 areas; members of the Spring Volunteer Fire Department also work 11 12 tirelessly with the community to raise money for important causes 13 such as the Muscular Dystrophy Association; and

14 WHEREAS, The courageous firefighters serving and protecting 15 Spring residents over the past 50 years have made the department a 16 source of tremendous pride to the community; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 18 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor the Spring Volunteer 19 Fire Department for half a century of exemplary service and extend 20 to all those responsible for the department's operations sincere 21 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the Spring Volunteer Fire Department as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Riddle

1

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hope Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 148

H.R. No. 148

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 148 was adopted by the House on September 24, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House