H.R. No. 168

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The opening of Jack and Sharon Rhoads Elementary 2 School is ushering in an exciting new era of educational 3 opportunity for students in the Katy Independent School District; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, This impressive new facility, located at 19711 Clay 6 Road, has been named in honor of a beloved husband and wife team of 7 educators who made a lasting impact on generations of Katy youth; 8 and

WHEREAS, The late Jack Rhoads, a 1958 graduate of Katy High 9 School, served as head football coach and athletic director at his 10 alma mater and as the district's first athletic director over the 11 12 course of a career that spanned 27 years; during his impressive 13 tenure, he led the football and tennis teams to multiple state 14 championships, saw the district grow from a small 2A high school to three 5A schools, added subvarsity sports to high schools, began 15 16 offering tennis and golf in junior high schools, and established an active summer recreation program; and 17

WHEREAS, Sharon Rhoads began teaching in Katy in 1972 and was adored by her students for bringing art to life with her colorful tales, wonderful costumes, and original shows; she also established Family Art Night at Hutsell Elementary School, an event that drew as many as 800 participants; and

23 WHEREAS, Residents of Katy may look forward to the diverse 24 instructional education programs and enrichment activities of Jack

1

## H.R. No. 168

and Sharon Rhoads Elementary School, as their implementation will surely enhance the learning experience of every student, in keeping with the example set by the school's remarkable namesakes; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 6 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commemorate the opening of 7 Jack and Sharon Rhoads Elementary School and commend all those 8 associated with the school for their commitment to academic 9 excellence; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

Callegari

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 168

H.R. No. 168

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 168 was adopted by the House on September 25, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House