H.R. No. 172

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The opening of Morton Ranch High School is ushering in an exciting new era of educational opportunity for students in the Katy Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, This impressive new facility has been named in honor of one of Katy's founding families, the Mortons, whose arrival in the area dates back to 1896; today, James and Ida May Morton live on the original homesite of E. M. and M. M. C. Morton, which was later operated by C. E. and Beulah Morton; the ranch that remains in production is operated by another grandson and his wife, Monroe and Dorothy Morton, who continue the work of their forebears; and

11 WHEREAS, Residents of Katy may look forward to the diverse 12 instructional programs and enrichment activities of Morton Ranch 13 High School, as their implementation will enhance the learning 14 experience of every student; and

15 WHEREAS, The staff is dedicated to the total education of its 16 students, helping to develop tomorrow's leaders with pride and 17 determination, and the school represents a significant addition to 18 the state's public education system; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 20 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commemorate the opening of 21 Morton Ranch High School and commend all those associated with the 22 school for their commitment to academic excellence; and, be it 23 further

24

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 172

- 1 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 2 House of Representatives.

Callegari

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

## H.R. No. 172

H.R. No. 172

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 172 was adopted by the House on September 25, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House