By: Rose H.R. No. 177

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, In enduring the mentally and physically demanding rigors of competition against 29 teams from all over Texas, the 15-member Hays County SWAT team has proven itself to be one of the preeminent SWAT teams in the Lone Star State; and
WHEREAS, At the Texas Tactical Police Officer's Association state competition, hosted by the Houston SWAT team and the Harris

WHEREAS, At the Texas Tactical Police Officer's Association state competition, hosted by the Houston SWAT team and the Harris County ERT in Houston on September 14-18, 2003, the Hays County SWAT team placed high in the standings of all four individual events—fourth in hostage rescue, third in sniper—initiated assault, third in five gun scramble, and fourth in the obstacle course—for a second place finish over all; and

WHEREAS, The competitors representing the team were John Curnutt of the San Marcos Police Department and Joe Faulkner, Bo Kidd, Mark Cumberland, David Burns, and Chris Bartsch of the Hays County Sheriff's Office; valuable support was provided to them by the Hays County Sheriff's Department, the San Marcos Police Department, the team medic, John Craigmile, the Wimberley Volunteer Fire Department, and the Austin and San Antonio SWAT teams; and

WHEREAS, By setting and meeting high standards for skills and athleticism, members of the Hays County SWAT team have achieved excellence in their profession, and they are most deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 24 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend all members of the

H.R. No. 177

- 1 Hays County SWAT team for the dedication to excellence that led to
- 2 winning second place honors in state competition and extend best
- 3 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the Hays County SWAT team as an expression of high
- 6 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.