H.R. No. 181

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The General Motors Arlington Assembly Plant is
- 2 celebrating its 50th anniversary, and during its five decades
- 3 employees have produced some 7.5 million cars and trucks, including
- 4 220,000 in the last year alone; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Groundbreaking ceremonies for the plant took place
- 6 in 1952, and the following year workers completed the
- 7 1.2-million-square-foot production facility, the first
- 8 air-conditioned General Motors assembly plant; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Production began in 1954 under the watchful eye of
- 10 plant manager E. C. Klotzburger, and the first car produced was a
- 11 four-door Pontiac Chieftain; in that inaugural year, the plant's
- 12 1,851 hourly employees and 304 salaried employees assembled 15,437
- Buicks, 12,705 Oldsmobiles, and 8,648 Pontiacs; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Through the years, General Motors has continued to
- invest in the Arlington facility, updating equipment and expanding
- 16 the plant's square footage; the plant currently employs around
- 3,000 people with a payroll of over \$250 million; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The City of Arlington is proud to be home to this
- 19 venerable automotive production facility, and the members of the
- 20 Texas House of Representatives are equally proud to recognize the
- 21 men and women who have made it a success; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 23 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby recognize the 50th
- 24 anniversary of the General Motors Arlington Assembly Plant and

H.R. No. 181

- 1 extend best wishes to plant manager Mike Glinski and the many
- 2 individuals who have contributed to the success of this fine
- 3 facility; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the employees of the General Motors Arlington Assembly
- 6 Plant as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives.

Goodman

H.R. No. 181

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 181 was adopted by the House on October 8, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House