H.R. No. 185

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Valley Creek Elementary School of McKinney has 2 received a Blue Ribbon School Award from the U.S. Department of 3 Education, and the faculty, staff, students, and parents of this 4 outstanding school are most deserving of special praise for this 5 honor; and

6 WHEREAS, Based on criteria relating to student performance on 7 standardized tests, the Blue Ribbon School Award is presented to 8 only a select few schools in the country; in 2002, Valley Creek 9 students distinguished themselves by obtaining top-decile pass 10 rates on the Texas Assessment of Academic Skills test, becoming the 11 only school in Collin County and only one of 26 schools in Texas to 12 be awarded the Blue Ribbon title by the federal government; and

WHEREAS, With an exemplary faculty of visionary and enthusiastic teachers, Valley Creek Elementary School has laid a firm foundation for academic achievement; this institution of learning, which also earned a 1996 Blue Ribbon Award, reflects the McKinney community's enduring commitment to promoting scholastic success among pupils of all backgrounds; and

WHEREAS, Young people are indeed our most precious natural resource, and by raising expectations and encouraging success, the faculty and staff at Valley Creek Elementary School are having a positive effect on our next generation of leaders; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

1

H.R. No. 185

Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the faculty, staff, students, and parents of Valley Creek Elementary School on receiving the U.S. Department of Education's Blue Ribbon School Award and extend best wishes to the many individuals who have contributed to this achievement; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Valley Creek Elementary School as an expression of 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Paxton

H.R. No. 185

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 185 was adopted by the House on October 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House