H.R. No. 187

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, This chamber places great importance on enhancing 2 the prosperity of the Lone Star State through economic development 3 and tourism and wishes to recognize the potential of Houston's 4 Bayou Bowl in this regard; and

5 WHEREAS, A showcase of great football talent, the inaugural 6 Bayou Bowl was played on June 21, 2003, pitting the Houston-Area 7 High School All-Stars against the State of Louisiana High School 8 All-Stars; this exciting event drew more than 8,500 visitors from 9 Texas and Louisiana to the Houston area and was televised by Fox 10 Sports Net across five states; and

11 WHEREAS, The Bayou Bowl was sponsored by the Greater Houston 12 Football Coaches Association, with support from the Harris County 13 Houston Sports Authority, and was played at Baytown's Stallworth 14 Stadium; proceeds from the game were dedicated to college 15 scholarships and to the further development of high school student 16 athletics; and

17 WHEREAS, Texas enjoys wide renown for its high school 18 football, and events such as the Bayou Bowl offer tremendous 19 benefits to the state's educational facilities and businesses by 20 attracting tourist dollars; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby recognize the importance of the Bayou Bowl to the state and encourage all oversight and governing bodies to embrace and support this event.

Smith of Harris

1

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hope Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 187

H.R. No. 187

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 187 was adopted by the House on October 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House