By: Gallego

H.R. No. 191

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans have a long and honored tradition of serving 2 the state and each other, and certain notable Texas attorneys in 3 private practice have continued that tradition by serving as 4 special counsel to the State Commission on Judicial Conduct; and

5 WHEREAS, Our legal system is based on the principle that an 6 independent, fair, and competent judiciary will interpret and apply 7 the laws that govern the people of Texas; further, the role of the 8 judiciary is central to our concept of justice and the rule of law; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, In addition to representing their clients, lawyers 11 are officers of the legal system and public citizens with special 12 responsibility for upholding the quality of justice; lawyers, as 13 guardians of the law, play a vital role in the preservation of 14 society, and, as public citizens, lawyers seek to improve the law 15 and the administration of justice; and

WHEREAS, The State Commission on Judicial Conduct 16 is constitutionally mandated to ensure that everyone appearing before 17 18 judges in this state can be confident that these the decision-makers themselves comply with state and federal laws, as 19 well as with the Texas Code of Judicial Conduct; to that end, the 20 21 State Commission on Judicial Conduct is authorized to investigate allegations of judicial misconduct, issue appropriate sanctions in 22 connection with its findings that a judicial officer has engaged in 23 24 misconduct, and, if warranted, institute formal proceedings

1

H.R. No. 191

seeking the public censure, removal, or retirement of judges who willfully or persistently violate the laws and rules of this state; and

4 WHEREAS, Since 2001, the following attorneys have made significant contributions to the State Commission on Judicial 5 6 Conduct, the judiciary, and the people of Texas by serving as special counsel in connection with disciplinary proceedings before 7 8 the State Commission on Judicial Conduct: Rusty Hardin, Anthony 9 Drumheller, and Eric J. Davis of Houston; Edgar M. Duncan, Mark Greenwald, Robert E. Valdez, Frank R. Rivas, and Eduardo Guzman of 10 San Antonio; Kirk Mills and David Horton of South Padre Island; and 11 John J. "Mike" McKetta and Jennifer P. Johnson of Austin; further, 12 these attorneys were assisted behind the scenes by talented support 13 14 staff employed by their firms, making their extraordinary 15 contributions to the state possible; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 17 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby publicly thank these 18 attorneys and their staffs for their dedication and commitment to 19 preserving the integrity of the judiciary and for their exemplary 20 performance in protecting the public by providing thousands of 21 hours of pro bono legal assistance to the State Commission on 22 Judicial Conduct; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for these attorneys as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2