RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Cleburne community lost a beloved resident when 2 James R. "Jim" Atchley passed away on August 31, 2003, at the age of

3 74; and

6

7

8

9

10

11

14

WHEREAS, Born on July 2, 1929, in Cleburne, Mr. Atchley

5 graduated from Cleburne High School in 1947; this native son

remained deeply involved in the Cleburne community throughout his

life as a member of the Cleburne Yellow Jacket Booster Club, as a

33rd-degree Mason with Cleburne Masonic Lodge No. 315, and as a

congregant at Field St. Baptist Church, where he belonged to the

Tent Makers Class and the Joyful Sound Choir; Mr. Atchley also

played in the WST Bluegrass Band and acted as master of ceremonies

12 for bluegrass festivals in Glen Rose; and

WHEREAS, In April of 1948, Mr. Atchley began a 48-year tenure

with the Santa Fe Railroad as a freight brakeman, earning a

promotion to conductor and receiving switchman's seniority in 1960;

16 and

17 WHEREAS, An esteemed member of the former Brotherhood of

18 Railroad Trainmen and the United Transportation Union (UTU), Mr.

19 Atchley served as local legislative representative, member of the

20 local board of trustees, secretary of the Texas Legislative Board,

21 and assistant state legislative director; on January 1, 1988, he

22 assumed the office of state legislative director and was

23 subsequently elected to two four-year terms; and

24 WHEREAS, During his time with the UTU, Mr. Atchley worked

- 1 with Governors Dolph Briscoe, Mark White, Bill Clements, Ann
- 2 Richards, and George Bush, helping to pass legislation that
- 3 benefited UTU members and their families and created better working
- 4 conditions for rail and bus employees; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A positive influence in the lives of countless
- 6 Texans, Mr. Atchley leaves behind a legacy of good works that will
- 7 not soon be forgotten; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 9 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of
- 10 James R. Atchley and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his
- 11 family: to his son, Gary Atchley and his wife, Mindy; to his
- 12 daughter, Debbe Prater and her husband, Mike; to his sister,
- 13 Janelle Green; to his sister-in-law, Betty Jo Atchley; to his
- 14 grandchildren, David Atchley, Kevin Atchley and his wife, Annette,
- 15 Tommy Atchley and his wife, Caren, Cole Prater, and Curt Prater; to
- 16 his great-grandchildren, Kaitlyn Atchley, Zoe Atchley, and Hayley
- 17 Atchley; to his special friend, Ona Pritchard; and to his other
- 18 relatives and many friends; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 21 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jim
- 22 Atchley.

Allen

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 197 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on October 2, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House