RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Delegates to the 85th American Legion National 2 Convention have chosen John Brieden III of Brenham to serve as the 3 new national commander of the 2.8 million member organization; and 4 WHEREAS, A graduate of Texas A&M University, where he earned
- 5 a bachelor's degree in business administration, Mr. Brieden 6 belonged to the renowned Corps of Cadets and played in the Fightin'
- 7 Texas Aggie Band; a Distinguished Military Graduate of the school,
- 8 he was commissioned a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army following
- 9 graduation; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Brieden served with distinction as an infantry
- 11 officer in the army during the Vietnam War; when the army
- 12 reinstituted Ranger battalions, he was selected to serve in the 1st
- 13 Battalion, 75th Infantry; and
- WHEREAS, A distinguished member of American Legion Post 48,
- 15 Mr. Brieden has worked tirelessly in behalf of his fellow
- 16 servicemen and servicewomen; he has held numerous key American
- 17 Legion positions at the post, district, state, and national levels,
- 18 earning the respect and admiration of those who have been
- 19 privileged to work with him; and
- 20 WHEREAS, His outstanding tenure of service also includes a
- 21 gubernatorial appointment to the Texas Veterans Commission, which
- 22 he served as secretary in 2000 and 2001 and as vice chairman in 2002
- 23 and 2003; and
- WHEREAS, A man of great loyalty, vision, and integrity, Mr.

- 1 Brieden eagerly looks forward to making further significant
- 2 contributions to the American Legion, and it is a distinct
- 3 privilege to commend him at this time; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 5 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate John Brieden
- 6 III on his appointment as national commander of the American Legion
- 7 and extend to him best wishes for continued success in this
- 8 important role; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for Mr. Brieden as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Chavez Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 216 was adopted by the House on October 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House