H.R. No. 220

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The untimely passing of Deb Mohon of Gladewater on 2 September 14, 2003, at the age of 55, has deeply saddened her family 3 and many friends; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Mohon was known throughout the rodeo circuit for her expertise as a barrel racer and horse trainer; a rider since the age of 10, she became involved in barrel racing professionally in 1984, qualified for the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association's National Finals Rodeo 11 times, and in 1990, was named reserve world champion; and

WHEREAS, A native of Gladewater, she was born on December 29, 1947, and graduated in 1966 from Gladewater High School; she married her high school sweetheart, Bubba Mohon, in 1970, and they shared a close and fulfilling relationship that was blessed with a son; and

WHEREAS, Rodeo was a shared passion in this close-knit family, as Mrs. Mohon's husband and son both participated in cow roping, while her daughter-in-law competed in barrel racing; and

WHEREAS, Throughout her lifetime, Deb Mohon's devotion and zest for life brought joy to a wide circle of family and friends, and this remarkable woman's generous spirit will surely live on in the hearts and minds of the many individuals whose lives she touched; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 24 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of

H.R. No. 220

- 1 Deb Mohon and extend deep sympathy to the members of her family: to
- 2 her husband, Bubba Mohon; to her son and daughter-in-law, Monty and
- 3 Bobbie Mohon; to her siblings, Mike Cannon, Barbara Halliday, Mary
- 4 Helen Lowe, and Pam Orms; and to all those who mourn the passing of
- 5 this beloved woman; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Deb Mohon.

Merritt

H.R. No. 220

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 220 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on October 10, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House