## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Roy Orr, a longtime public official, founded GRS in order to assist corporate clients seeking to do business with government entities, and GRS is celebrating its 20th anniversary in 2003; and

WHEREAS, The only national firm devoted to helping companies navigate the bureaucratic process, GRS provides a wide array of specialized services; these range from bringing clients together with the appropriate officials to explaining the political dynamics at work, assisting in making effective presentations, maximizing a firm's impact at trade shows and conferences, developing a marketing plan, and training sales teams; and

WHEREAS, During a 30-year political career, Mr. Orr has held both elected and appointed positions and acquired government experience at the local, state, and national levels; among the offices he has held are those of Dallas County commissioner, mayor of DeSoto, president of the DeSoto school board, president of the National Association of Counties, president of the executive board of the North Central Texas Council of Governments, and chairman of the Regional Transportation Council for the Dallas-Fort Worth area; and

WHEREAS, He has served on numerous state boards and commissions at the behest of both Republican and Democratic governors; a former member of the Texas Commission on Jail Standards and the Texas Aeronautics Commission, he has also chaired

- 1 the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas County and District
- 2 Retirement System Board, and Texas State Property Tax Board; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Presidents Jimmy Carter and Ronald Reagan appointed
- 4 Mr. Orr to the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations
- 5 and the President's Advisory Committee on Federalism,
- 6 respectively; and
- WHEREAS, The recipient of many well-deserved accolades, this
- 8 distinguished Texan has been named Headliner of the Year by the
- 9 Dallas Press Club, Man of the Year by the Dallas County NAACP, Oak
- 10 Cliff Man of the Year, and Outstanding Man of the Year by the DeSoto
- 11 Chamber of Commerce; a boulevard in Grand Prairie and a trail and
- 12 park in DeSoto have all been named in his honor; and
- WHEREAS, For three decades, Roy Orr has given unstintingly of
- 14 his talents and energies to government service, and he is drawing on
- 15 his own broad experience as a public official to help guide business
- 16 people through the unique challenges of the government marketplace;
- 17 now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 19 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Roy Orr for his
- 20 manifold contributions in public service and extend warm
- 21 congratulations as GRS marks its 20th anniversary; and, be it
- 22 further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for Mr. Orr as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.

Giddings Hodge

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Moreno of Harris Bailey Goolsby Moreno of El Paso Baxter Griggs Grusendorf Berman Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Bonnen Gutierrez Naishtat Nixon Branch Haggerty Brown of Kaufman Hamilton Noriega Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Olivo Burnam Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Callegari Paxton Pena Campbell Canales Heflin Phillips Capelo Hegar Pickett Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Hochberg Chavez Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Норе Coleman Riddle Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Howard Cook of Colorado Rodriguez Corte Rose Hughes Crabb Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Crownover Hupp Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Isett Jones of Lubbock Smithee Dawson Jones of Bexar Solis Jones of Dallas Delisi Solomons Denny Keel Stick Keffer of Dallas Deshotel Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Telford Dunnam Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Eiland Turner Laney Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Villarreal Luna Escobar Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Marchant Wise Farrar Martinez Fischer Flores Wohlgemuth Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 236 was adopted by the House on October 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House