RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, It is indeed a privilege to welcome home the members of the 136th Airlift Wing and to honor these heroic individuals for their efforts in support of Operation Noble Eagle, Operation

Enduring Freedom, and Operation Iraqi Freedom; and

4

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, A component of the Texas Air National Guard, the 136th Airlift Wing is one of three flying units within the Texas Air National Guard; the unit, which includes some 980 highly trained personnel, joins active duty forces during wartime and serves the State of Texas during peacetime; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated men and women have provided vital airlift support to deployed troops in the Persian Gulf region, including airland and airdrop delivery of cargo and personnel to various countries in that region; the wing flies and maintains eight C-130H aircraft, an all-purpose vehicle, cargo, and personnel transport; and

WHEREAS, The 136th Airlift Wing recently exceeded 150,000 flying hours without a Class A mishap, an achievement that dates back to 1965; despite logging 6,000 flight hours over the past year—double the normal annual number of hours—the unit has flown more than 2,100 sorties without a maintenance cancellation; and

WHEREAS, The men and women of our armed forces truly deserve our deepest thanks and gratitude for their role in protecting and preserving the freedoms that we hold dear, and the efforts of the 136th Airlift Wing and the Lone Star State's other military units

- 1 are indeed inspirational; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the members of the
- 4 136th Airlift Wing for their participation in operations Noble
- 5 Eagle, Enduring Freedom, and Iraqi Freedom and honor them for their
- 6 continued commitment to protecting the citizens of the United
- 7 States of America.

Zedler

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hiĺderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 239 was adopted by the House on October 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House