H.R. No. 240

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Over the course of his service in the U.S. Army, 2 Ramon "Raymond" Borrego of San Elizario acted with honor and 3 distinction and made a commendable contribution to his fellow 4 citizens; and

5 WHEREAS, Inducted into the U.S. Army on April 10, 1967, Mr. 6 Borrego completed his basic training at Fort Bliss, Texas, and his advanced individual training at Fort Polk, Louisiana; he spent two 7 weeks at Fort Lewis, Washington, before shipping out to Vietnam, 8 where he was assigned to Company A, 2nd Battalion, 5th Cavalry 9 Division; he served with courage and honor in Vietnam from 10 September 1967 to September 1968 and participated in one of the 11 12 largest air mobile operations of the war at Sanh; and

13 WHEREAS, Mr. Borrego earned numerous commendations, 14 including the National Defense Service Medal, Combat Infantry 15 Badge, Vietnam Service Medal with bronze service star, Air Medal, and Vietnam Campaign Medal with device 60; after his tour of duty in 16 Vietnam, Mr. Borrego was stationed in Fort Dix, New Jersey, and 17 18 later Fort Carson, Colorado; in January 1969, he received an early discharge from the army to attend The University of Texas at El 19 20 Paso, and in April 1973, Mr. Borrego was honorably discharged; and

21 WHEREAS, This nation's freedom is dependent on men and women 22 who make the sacrifices associated with participation in the armed 23 forces, and Mr. Borrego is truly deserving of special recognition; 24 now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 240

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Raymond Borrego for 3 his distinguished service in the U.S. Army and extend to him best 4 wishes for future happiness; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Borrego as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Quintanilla

H.R. No. 240

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 240 was adopted by the House on October 2, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House