H.R. No. 247

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A 60th wedding anniversary is truly cause for 2 celebration, and Norvan and Beverly Bourland of Midland marked this 3 memorable milestone in their lives with a transatlantic cruise on the Queen Elizabeth 2 and a holiday in Paris, France; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Bourland and the former Beverly Frailey were 6 joined in marriage on May 15, 1943, at the First Methodist Church in Nocona; soon after his wedding, Mr. Bourland traveled overseas in 7 the service of his country during World War II as a navigator on 8 B-24s in the 458th Bomb Group of the 8th Air Force; he later served 9 in the Alaskan Air Defense Command during the Korean War; and 10 11 WHEREAS, Today, Mrs. Bourland refers to herself 12 "retired" homemaker, while her husband is retired after a 37-year

career with Mobil Oil Company as a petroleum engineer; over the course of their marriage, the couple moved more than 20 times but have resided in Midland for 37 years; they are avid travelers and Mr. Bourland has been active with the Commemorative Air Force; and

13

14

15

16

WHEREAS, The heart of a close-knit family, Mr. and Mrs.
Bourland have been blessed with two children, Scott and Page
Bourland, and two grandchildren, Jennifer Bourland and Scott
Bourland II; and

21 WHEREAS, Together, this devoted couple have nurtured a strong 22 bond of love and filled each other's lives with great joy, and it is 23 a privilege to join in honoring them at this time; now, therefore, 24 be it

H.R. No. 247

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Norvan and
 Beverly Bourland on the joyous occasion of their 60th wedding
 anniversary and extend to them best wishes for continued happiness;
 and, be it further
 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Bourland as an expression of high regard
 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 247

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 247 was adopted by the House on October 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House