H.R. No. 306

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Longtime athletic coach Jim Miller has been named
Kilgore College's 2003 Ex-Teacher of the Year, and he is most
deserving of this prestigious honor; and

WHEREAS, Coach Miller began his affiliation with Kilgore College in 1967, and he holds the distinction of being the longest-tenured head coach in the school's history; he served as an assistant coach and physical education instructor for nine years before taking the helm as head football coach in 1976; and

9 WHEREAS, A U.S. Army veteran, Coach Miller is a graduate of 10 Ennis High School and the former East Texas State University 11 (ETSU), where he earned bachelor's and master's degrees in 12 education; during his undergraduate years at ETSU, he was a 13 standout member of the school's football team, and in 1991 he was 14 inducted into the ETSU Athletic Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, This notable leader is a seven-time coach of the year whose teams won seven conference championships, five bowl games, and the 1978 Junior College National Championship; he was named the Texas Sports Writers' Junior College Coach of the Year in 1978 and was inducted into the Kilgore College Football Hall of Fame in 2002; and

21 WHEREAS, Jim Miller is a credit to Kilgore College and its 22 many alumni; his dedication and commitment are truly inspirational, 23 and it is indeed a privilege to recognize him and his many 24 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 306

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Jim Miller on 3 his selection as Kilgore College's 2003 Ex-Teacher of the Year and 4 commend him for his many years of service to this fine school; and, 5 be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Coach Miller as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Merritt

H.R. No. 306

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 306 was adopted by the House on October 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House