H.R. No. 307

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, C. G. Mata has been named Kilgore College's 2003
- 2 Ex-Student of the Year, and he is most deserving of this prestigious
- 3 honor; and
- WHEREAS, A 1961 graduate of Edna High School, Mr. Mata was an
- 5 active and important member of Kilgore College's student body
- 6 during his two years at the school; he was a two-year starter for
- 7 the Kilgore Ranger football team, served as student body
- 8 parliamentarian, and was a member of Phi Theta Kappa; and
- 9 WHEREAS, After earning an associate of arts degree with
- 10 honors in 1963, this devoted alumnus continued his education at the
- 11 University of Houston, where he graduated with a bachelor of
- 12 science degree in pharmacy in 1967; he and his lovely wife, Nina,
- 13 have been blessed with three wonderful children, two of whom
- 14 attended Kilgore College; and
- WHEREAS, From 1983 to 1995, Mr. Mata demonstrated his
- 16 dedication to Kilgore College by serving on the Board of Trustees;
- 17 he also served as chairman of the Field House Committee and played a
- 18 vital role in raising funds for the construction of this
- 19 much-needed athletic facility; and
- WHEREAS, Through his notable efforts in support of Kilgore
- 21 College, C. G. Mata has gained the respect and admiration of his
- 22 fellow alumni, and it is indeed a privilege to pay tribute to this
- 23 exemplary individual for his many contributions to Kilgore College;
- 24 now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 307

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate Mr. Mata on
- 3 his selection as Kilgore College's 2003 Ex-Student of the Year and
- 4 commend him for his many years of service to his alma mater; and, be
- 5 it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Mata as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Merritt

H.R. No. 307

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 307 was adopted by the House on October 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House