H.R. No. 308

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Longview's Hudson PEP Elementary School has 2 received a 2003 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School Award from 3 the U.S. Department of Education, and the faculty, staff, and 4 students of this outstanding school are most deserving of special 5 praise for this honor; and

WHEREAS, Presented to only a select few schools in the 6 country, the Blue Ribbon School Program was redesigned in 2002 7 under the No Child Left Behind Act to recognize outstanding schools 8 that are academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic and 9 consistent gains in student achievement; from 1999 to 2002, 10 students at Hudson PEP Elementary distinguished themselves by 11 12 scoring within the top 10 percent on the Texas Assessment of 13 Academic Skills test in reading and math; and

14 WHEREAS, With an exemplary faculty of visionary and 15 enthusiastic teachers, Hudson PEP Elementary School has laid a firm 16 foundation for academic achievement; this institution of learning 17 reflects the Longview community's enduring commitment to promoting 18 scholastic success among pupils from all backgrounds; and

WHEREAS, Young people are indeed our most precious resource, and by raising expectations and encouraging success, the faculty and staff at Hudson PEP Elementary School are having a positive effect on our next generation of leaders; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend the faculty, staff,

1

H.R. No. 308

and students of Hudson PEP Elementary School on being recognized with the U.S. Department of Education's No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School Award and extend best wishes to the many individuals who contributed to this achievement; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Hudson PEP Elementary School as an expression of high 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Merritt

H.R. No. 308

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 308 was adopted by the House on October 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House