H.R. No. 331

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dwayne "Sparky" Anderson is stepping down from his 2 position as program director for Texas Clean Water Action (CWA) 3 after more than a decade of outstanding service; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Anderson began his distinguished tenure with CWA in 1989 as a field canvasser; later promoted to program assistant, he encouraged residents of San Antonio to take an active role in protecting the environment by establishing curbside recycling in the city; and

WHEREAS, In 1994, this esteemed advocate became program director for Texas CWA, and over the years he has worked tirelessly to protect water supplies and coastal beaches; he has conducted budget analysis for state and federal spending on environmental protections and represented 80,000 CWA Texas members at city halls across the state, at key committees of the Texas Legislature, and at federal policy panels; and

WHEREAS, Committed to a just cause, Mr. Anderson is leaving CWA to become executive director for the Sensible Management of Aquatic Resources Team (SMART), where he will continue to build bridges between freshwater anglers, environmentalists, and public health advocates; and

WHEREAS, Though his guidance and abilities will be missed by his colleagues at Texas Clean Water Action, his exceptional work will continue to benefit the residents of the Lone Star State as he moves on to his new challenges and opportunities; now, therefore,

H.R. No. 331

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby honor Dwayne "Sparky"
- 4 Anderson as he steps down from his position as program director for
- 5 Texas Clean Water Action and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 6 continued happiness and success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Anderson as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Naishtat

H.R. No. 331

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 331 was adopted by the House on October 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House