H.R. No. 336

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the three-time defending 5A state 2 champion Lady Highlanders golf team were honored as the "Top Women 3 in Golf" on October 9, 2003, when a Channel 2 camera crew and 4 meteorologist Wes Hohenstein landed in a helicopter on the football 5 field at The Woodlands High School to present the team with the 6 Sunshine Award; and

WHEREAS, Consistently performing at a superior level in the 7 sport of golf, the Lady Highlanders golf team has won 10 successive 8 district championships, eight straight regional championships, and 9 34 consecutive tournaments; in 10 eight state championship 11 appearances, this outstanding squad won three times, including in 12 2003, and finished second twice, third twice, and fourth once; and

13 WHEREAS, The current team members, who have made significant 14 contributions to this winning streak, are Blair Brame, Mandy Blackim, Lizann Dernick, Lauren Johnson, Stefanie Page, Morgan 15 Knocke, Kristine Lawrence, Krystal Limsiaco, Brittni Pine, Jenna 16 Podlogar, Landa Stewart, and Stephanie Smith; ably guiding these 17 18 young athletes, schooling them in good sportsmanship and the fundamentals of the sport, are head coach Janean Murphy and 19 assistant coach Mike Mead; and 20

21 WHEREAS, The Lady Highlanders golf team is a source of 22 tremendous pride to The Woodlands community, and the team's 23 exceptional achievements are indeed worthy of special recognition; 24 now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 336

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby congratulate the Lady 3 Highlanders golf team on its receipt of the Channel 2 Sunshine Award 4 and extend to the players and coaches best wishes for continued 5 success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Eissler

H.R. No. 336

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 336 was adopted by the House on October 10, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House