RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Former state representative Anita Carraway Hill of 2 Garland passed away on October 7, 2003, at the age of 75, and her

loss has left a void in the lives of the many individuals who were

4 privileged to know this remarkable woman; and

WHEREAS, Born August 13, 1928, in Chatfield, Ms. Hill was a graduate of Marlin High School and earned a degree in journalism

from Texas Woman's University; in 1981, her alma mater named her a

Distinguished Alumna, a testament to the positive impact she had

during her extraordinary life; and

3

7

8

9

11

12

14

17

18

20

21

23

10 WHEREAS, A lifelong advocate for children and the elderly,

Ms. Hill served on the Garland City Council in the 1960s and was

elected to the Garland school board in 1972, the beginning of a

13 17-year term with that governing body; she served as chairman of the

City of Garland's park board in 1976 and 1977 and was elected to the

15 Texas House of Representatives in 1977; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Hill served her constituents as a state

representative for 16 years; during her term in office, she helped

pass legislation aimed at protecting elderly and young citizens,

19 notably through instituting nursing home regulation and mandatory

children's safety car-seat use; she was respected by peers and

constituents alike as a dedicated public servant; and

22 WHEREAS, Numerous civic and social organizations benefited

from her leadership, including the Garland Chamber of Commerce, the

24 Garland Women's Study Club, and the Smart Money Investment Club;

- 1 she was a longtime member of the Garland Republican Women and the
- 2 Greater Garland Republican Organization and was a faithful
- 3 congregant of First United Methodist Church of Garland for many
- 4 years; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A devoted mother and grandmother, she was preceded
- 6 in death by her husband, Harris Hill, with whom she shared many
- 7 wonderful years of marriage, and although she will be deeply missed
- 8 by family, friends, and fellow citizens, her legacy of integrity as
- 9 a public servant and dedication to her family have ensured that she
- 10 will be remembered for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 12 Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of
- 13 the Honorable Anita Carraway Hill and extend sincere sympathy to
- 14 the members of her family: to her son, Steve Hill; to her daughter
- 15 and son-in-law, Ginger and Judge John Sholden; to her
- 16 grandchildren, Jeffrey and Elizabeth Sholden; to her brother, Paul
- 17 Carraway, and his wife, Sharon; to her brother-in-law, Edward Hill,
- and his wife, Ann; and to the many other relatives and friends of
- 19 this esteemed woman; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Anita
- 23 Carraway Hill.

Goolsby Driver

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 340 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on October 10, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House