SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 32

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Charlotte Steele, who has been named a Telecommunicator of the Year for helping a resident of Watauga save the life of his son; and

WHEREAS, The award has been annually given for the past 15 years to emergency dispatchers, emergency call-takers, and 911 operators by the Commission on State Emergency Communications; and

WHEREAS, Charlotte, an emergency dispatcher for the Watauga Department of Public Safety, came to the aid of a father who placed a 911 call to her, seeking help for his son who was living in Japan; and

WHEREAS, By responding quickly and with compassion to the father's concerns, Charlotte paged the department's Sergeant Thomas Blair, who is also an Air Force senior master sergeant and who was able to reach the command post in Yokota, Japan; due to Charlotte's persistence in following up on the call, an emergency military crew transported the caller's son from his home to the hospital, where he made a full recovery; and

from his home to the hospital, where he made a full recovery; and WHEREAS, On August 27, 2003, during the annual conference of the Texas Chapter of the National Emergency Number Association in Plano, Charlotte Steele will be publicly recognized for helping avert a human tragedy; and

WHEREAS, Charlotte is a highly knowledgeable and dedicated emergency dispatcher who came to the aid of a fellow citizen during a time of grave personal crisis; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Charlotte Steele for her outstanding work as a member of the Watauga Department of Public Safety and extend congratulations to her on her selection as a Telecommunicator of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 19, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate