SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 44

In Memory of Morris E. Bailey

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Amarillo in mourning the loss of Morris E. Bailey, who died on July 17, 2002, at the age of 77; and

who died on July 17, 2002, at the age of 77; and
WHEREAS, Morris Bailey enrolled in Texas Christian University
in 1946 and earned a bachelor of science degree in physical
education; an outstanding football player throughout his high
school and college days, he was named to the Texas Christian
University Sports Hall of Fame in 1974; and

WHEREAS, He joined the Plains Machinery Company, a heavy equipment distributor, in 1957; he was promoted to executive vice president in 1969 and named president in 1975, subsequently leading the multimillion-dollar business to global prominence; in 1983, he resigned to pursue other business interests; and

in 1983, he resigned to pursue other business interests; and WHEREAS, A well-known community leader, Morris Bailey was appointed by Governor Preston Smith in 1971 to fill a vacancy on the board of regents of Texas State Technical Institute; and

WHEREAS, Morris was a devoted husband, father, and grandfather, and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Morris E. Bailey: his wife, Martha Tull Bailey; his daughters and son-in law, Ann Marie Bailey and Karen Bailey Pettigrew and Forrest; his son, Tull E. Bailey, and his wife, Nikole; and his four grandchildren; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Morris E. Bailey.

Bivins

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 23, 2003, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate