SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 60

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Elena Juarez, of the Alice Independent School District, who was recently selected as the Regional Teacher of the Year in the elementary division by the Region Two Education Service Center; and

WHEREAS, Elena has been a schoolteacher for 20 years, and she currently teaches third grade at Noonan Elementary School in Alice; and

WHEREAS, Selection of the Regional Teacher of the Year by the Region Two Education Service Center is based on professional development, recognition, community involvement, teacher philosophy, and understanding of major education issues; and

WHEREAS, Along with the honor, Elena received a \$500 award from the SBC Foundation and the opportunity to compete for the Teacher of the Year title at the state level; and

Teacher of the Year title at the state level; and WHEREAS, Highly esteemed by her students, Elena Juarez is noted for her inspirational teaching methods and for the innovative activities she offers for students; she is also known for her personal patience and her commitment to the belief that everyone has a place in the world and can make important contributions; and

WHEREAS, Elena Juarez instills in her students a sense of pride and the joy of learning, and she dedicates herself to arming them with the skills and knowledge to compete in tomorrow's society; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Elena Juarez for her exceptional abilities as an educator and extend congratulations to her on earning the title of Regional Teacher of the Year; and, be it further

Teacher of the Year; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 25, 2003.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate