WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize 11 outstanding young Texans who have been selected as participants in the Young Masters Program; and WHEREAS, The Young Masters Program is funded through the Texas Cultural Trust and is administered through a selective grant process by the Texas Commission on the Arts; the program provides scholarships to promising school-age students engaged in the study of dance, music, theater, and the visual arts in Texas; each participant receives a scholarship of up to $2,500 per year for three years to pursue advanced training in their artistic discipline; and WHEREAS, Recipients of the Young Masters awards are selected according to the following criteria: their needs due to either limited economic circumstances or geographic isolation; their potential and a high level of aptitude and skill in their chosen field; the quality of their designed plan of study; and the commitment by the student, instructor, and parents to succeed in the program; and WHEREAS, This year's recipients have amply demonstrated their dedication to their artistic discipline, and they have committed themselves to pursuing their talents through intensive training over the next three years; and WHEREAS, These outstanding young men and women are Jonathan Campbell of Cedar Hill, Ngoc-Yen "Angela" Hoang of Houston, Chris Jenkins of Plano, Sofya Karash of Houston, Ei-Jane Janet Lin of Bellaire, Morgan Ashlee Morrow of Arlington, Brandie Phillips of San Angelo, Anna Michelle Reyes of Austin, Caitlin Tully of Austin, Stephanie Williams of Allen, and Charles Yang of Austin; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby extend congratulations to all who have been selected this year as participants in the Young Masters Program; and, be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate. Wentworth Deuell Janek Barrientos Duncan Shapiro Brimer Ellis Van de Putte ______________________________ Member, Texas Senate ____________________________________________________________ Member, Texas Senate Member, Texas Senate ____________________________________________________________ Member, Texas Senate Member, Texas Senate ____________________________________________________________ Member, Texas Senate Member, Texas Senate ____________________________________________________________ Member, Texas Senate Member, Texas Senate ______________________________ President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 3, 2004. ______________________________ Secretary of the Senate