By: Isett

H.C.R. No. 18

## CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Shallowater High School boys' basketball team 2 has made school history by winning the 2004 University 3 Interscholastic League Class 2A state championship, the program's 4 first state crown; and

5 WHEREAS, Facing Clarksville in the state tournament's 6 semifinal round, the Shallowater Mustangs put on a textbook 7 demonstration of hardwood excellence and cruised to a 62-46 8 victory; and

9 WHEREAS, This spirited Mustang team met Argyle High School in 10 the championship game; refusing to be denied, the players fought 11 hard for an overtime 47-45 victory to claim the state title and 12 complete the season with an outstanding record of 31 wins against 13 only five defeats; and

14 WHEREAS, Team members responsible for this superb performance are Houston Howell, Tyler Dipprey, Brandon Arencibia, 15 Eric Morris, Jared Johnson, Dakota Smith, and Eric Vonberg; head 16 coach Ray Morris ably schooled his charges in basketball 17 18 fundamentals while instilling in them the values of good 19 sportsmanship; and

20 WHEREAS, Eric Morris was named the state tournament's most 21 valuable player and was joined by his teammate Houston Howell on the 22 state all-tournament team; and

23 WHEREAS, These exceptional Mustang athletes, along with 24 their coaches and staff, are a tremendous source of pride to the

1

students and faculty at Shallowater High School and their many
supporters in the community; now, therefore, be it

H.C.R. No. 18

RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas, 4 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate the Shallowater High School 5 boys' basketball team on winning the 2004 UIL Class 2A state 6 championship and extend to the team members and coaches sincere 7 best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives and Senate.

2