H.C.R. No. 20

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sul Ross State University men's basketball team has completed a season to remember, repeating as American Southwest Conference West Division champs, winning the American Southwest Conference title, and advancing to the Sweet 16 in the 2004 NCAA Division III tournament; and

6 WHEREAS, Led by head coach Doug Davalos, the Lobos captured 7 their first American Southwest Conference title and earned an 8 automatic berth in the NCAA tournament after defeating The 9 University of Texas at Dallas and defending champ Mississippi 10 College; and

11 WHEREAS, Coach Davalos was instrumental in the team's 12 success, inspiring his young players with his remarkable work 13 ethic, knowledge of the game, and passion for teaching, while 14 leading his team to its first postseason tournament appearance in 15 67 years; named American Southwest Conference West Division Coach 16 of the Year, this dynamic leader is building on his reputation as 17 one of the Lone Star State's up-and-coming young coaches; and

WHEREAS, The team finished the season with an impressive 21-9 record that included exciting victories over the University of Dallas and Trinity University in the first two rounds of the national tournament; the only Texas team to reach the Sweet 16, the Lobos exceeded expectations throughout the year, winning through a combination of skill, teamwork, and desire; and

24 WHEREAS, Dedication and commitment to excellence were

1

H.C.R. No. 20

demonstrated by team members Omar Pineda of Alpine, Xavier Milligan of El Paso, Sidney Hooper of Andrews, Larry Morales of El Paso, Austin Mathis of Odessa, Rick Herrera of Alamogordo, New Mexico, Andre Wright of El Paso, Chris Packer of Midland, Aaron Hardwick of El Paso, Hugh Morrissey of El Paso, Michael Ortega of Clint, Derric Workman of Odessa, Rockland Owens of Wharton, Robert Romero of San Marcos, and Justin Steward of Texico, New Mexico; and

8 WHEREAS, These exemplary student athletes have excelled in 9 their efforts both on and off the court, making vital contributions 10 to the overall success of the basketball program, and it is most 11 appropriate to honor them for an outstanding season; now, 12 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate Coach Doug Davalos and the Sul Ross State University Lobos on their outstanding 2003-2004 season and extend best wishes for continued success to all those associated with the team; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 20 House of Representatives and Senate.

Gallego

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.C.R. No. 20

H.C.R. No. 20

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 20 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 20 was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor