By: Mercer H.R. No. 3

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) men's 1 2 basketball team has achieved a great victory by winning the 3 2003-2004 Southland Conference title and earning a berth in the

NCAA Tournament; and 4

5

6

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Led by tournament most valuable player LeRoy Hurd, the Roadrunners extended their winning streak to seven games by defeating Stephen F. Austin State University 74-70 in the finals of 7 the Southland Conference tournament to capture the school's third trip to the "Big Dance"; and

WHEREAS, This remarkable success on the court would not have been possible without the contributions of all the talented team members, including LeRoy Hurd, Reggie Wallace, Justin Harbert, Kurt Attaway, Sammie Cole, David President, Robert Ivy, Juan Salinas, John Millsap, Raphael Posey, Anthony Fuqua, and Dwain Hall; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Tim Carter has schooled these outstanding ballplayers in the game's fundamentals and the importance of good sportsmanship; he was ably supported in these efforts by assistant coaches Owen Miller, Brandon Johnson, and Lloyd Williams, as well as head trainer Jerry Greeson; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating a commitment to excellence and an admirable competitive spirit, the UTSA Roadrunners are a source of tremendous pride to the university and to all their supporters in the community, and it is indeed appropriate that the players and coaches receive legislative recognition at this time; now,

H.R. No. 3

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate the members of
- 4 The University of Texas at San Antonio men's basketball team on
- 5 winning the Southland Conference tournament championship and
- 6 extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of
- 10 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.