H.R. No. 39

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, December 2003 marked the end of a remarkable career
in education spanning 37 years for Del Rio Freshman School teacher
Simón René Ramón; and

WHEREAS, A Del Rio native, Mr. Ramón began teaching Spanish at San Felipe High School in 1967, immediately after his graduation from Sul Ross State University; following the school districts' consolidation in 1971, he transferred to the new Del Rio Freshman School; in 1974, he earned a master of arts degree with a major in Spanish and a minor in history from Southwest Texas State University; and

11 WHEREAS, A teacher of Spanish and American history, Mr. Ramón 12 was selected as a recipient of the San Felipe Del Rio Consolidated 13 Independent School District's "Teacher of the Year" award in 1978; 14 he has sponsored participation in foreign language festivals held 15 at Angelo State University for almost 10 years, and he has also 16 served as a University Interscholastic League academic sponsor in 17 the spelling event for 20 years; and

18 WHEREAS, The Texas State Teachers Association (TSTA) faculty 19 representative at the Del Rio Freshman School since 1972, Mr. Ramón 20 has further distinguished himself as local president and vice 21 president of that organization and has represented the Del Rio 22 chapter at the district and state conventions; he was appointed to 23 serve on the TSTA State Board of Directors from 1984 to 1988 and has 24 served as a national delegate to numerous annual conventions of the

1

H.R. No. 39

1 National Education Association; and

2 WHEREAS, In addition to his teaching and his extracurricular 3 activities in local, state, and national education organizations, 4 Mr. Ramón has also found time to participate in a number of 5 community activities, including serving on the Val Verde County 6 Library Board, coaching rookie and Little League baseball teams, 7 and teaching catechism at both Guadalupe Catholic Church and St. 8 Joseph Catholic Church; and

9 WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Mr. Ramón enjoyed the love 10 and support of his wife of 29 years, Generosa "Janie" Gracia Ramón, 11 and his two sons, Ruben Rene and Daniel Omar; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Ramón is widely remembered for his abundant and contagious enthusiasm in the classroom, his strict discipline, and his steadfast dedication to his students, who will not soon forget room number "J-103"; his years of service impacted generations of Texas students, and the Del Rio Freshman School is not the same without him; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 19 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby recognize Simón René Ramón 20 for his 37 years of teaching and extend to him sincere best wishes 21 for a happy and fulfilling retirement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Ramón as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 39

H.R. No. 39

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 39 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House