RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, May 2004 marks the retirement of Betty Hamilton 2 Crawford from the North Forest Independent School District, drawing 3 to a close an outstanding 30-year career in education; and

WHEREAS, After earning her bachelor of science degree in 1974 from Texas Southern University, Ms. Crawford joined W. E. Rogers Elementary School, where she remained throughout her career; a lifetime member of the Parent Teachers Association, which she served as treasurer for more than 20 years, Ms. Crawford has taught reading, language, and social studies; furthermore, she has instructed in the reading lab and computer lab and has served as a dyslexia teacher; and

WHEREAS, This distinguished educator and recipient of the "Teacher of the Year" award has committed her life to bettering the lives of children; in addition to her performing classroom duties, she has served as youth matron of the drill team, Drug Club sponsor at Rogers Elementary School, and instructor for teacher development courses and in-service programs at North Forest ISD; in the community, she has volunteered as a church school teacher and vacation Bible school teacher; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Crawford has served the North Forest ISD with integrity and dedication, earning the lasting respect of colleagues and students alike, and it is a privilege to recognize her exemplary tenure with W. E. Rogers Elementary School as she embarks on an exciting new chapter in her life; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 71

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate Betty
- 3 Hamilton Crawford on her retirement from W. E. Rogers Elementary
- 4 School in Houston and extend to her sincere best wishes for future
- 5 happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. Crawford as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

TT	ח	TAT C	71
н	ĸ	No.	/ 1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 71 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House