H.R. No. 97

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On May 6, 2004, students at Claude Curtsinger 2 Elementary School in Frisco are participating in the Student 3 Signature in Space (S3) program for Space Day 2004; and

WHEREAS, Promoting math, science, and engineering education since 1997, the Space Day initiative involves thousands of teachers and millions of students across 21 countries in an effort to introduce the wonders of the universe to young people and inspire in them a desire to follow in the footsteps of today's space explorers; and

WHEREAS, The S3 project provides elementary and middle school students the opportunity to feel personally involved with a space mission by allowing them to send their digitized signatures with a crew on an actual space mission; for Space Day 2004, Claude Curtsinger Elementary students will sign a space poster, and their signatures will travel with a NASA manned space flight; after returning from space, the poster will be returned to the school with a flight certificate and picture of the crew that carried the signatures into space; and

WHEREAS, The Lone Star State takes justifiable pride in these young Texans whose participation in Space Day helps them to learn more about space exploration and the advancement of science and human understanding; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 24 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby honor the students and

H.R. No. 97

- 1 their teachers at Curtsinger Elementary School for participating in
- 2 the Student Signature in Space program as part of Space Day 2004 and
- 3 extend to them sincere best wishes for a rewarding and memorable
- 4 experience; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Claude Curtsinger Elementary School in Frisco as an
- 7 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Paxton

<b>TT</b>	_	7. T	$\sim$ $\sim$
н	$\nu$	NΩ	$\alpha$

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 97 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House