H.R. No. 127

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Wimberley High School Lady Texans volleyball team won the 2003 UIL Class 3A state volleyball championship, and this stellar athletic achievement indeed merits special commendation; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Texans defeated a tough Monahans team

WHEREAS, The Lady Texans defeated a tough Monahans team 25-16, 25-13, and 25-12 to cap a school-record 40-3 season and win their third consecutive state volleyball crown; having swept all of its postseason matches in three games, Wimberley hit .569 as a team and committed only four hitting errors on 65 swings while notching 41 kills; and

WHEREAS, These exceptional athletes were schooled in the fundamentals and instilled with the values of good sportsmanship by Coach Lee Grisham, who was named the 2003 All-Central Texas Volleyball Team's Coach of the Year; the team roster also includes three members of the 2003 All-Central Texas Volleyball Team and 2003 3A State All-Tournament Team, Courtney McCrocklin, Caitlin Rainbird, and Jesi Grisham, who earned her third consecutive player of the year title at the state tournament and was named High School All-American; and

WHEREAS, Achieving the state championship is an apt reflection of the team's dedication, spirit, and strong work ethic, and the thrilling memory of this victory will surely remain with these young champions for many years to come; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 127

- 1 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate the Wimberley
- 2 High School Lady Texans volleyball team on winning its third
- 3 consecutive Class 3A state volleyball championship and extend to
- 4 its coach and players sincere best wishes for future success and
- 5 happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Rose

TT	ח	NT ~	1 2 7
н	ĸ	$N \cap$	1//

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 127 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House