H.R. No. 133

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The year 2004 marks the 100th anniversary of the 2 Baylor Round Table, an exceptional organization that has enhanced 3 the lives of generations of Texas women; and

WHEREAS, Organized in 1904 by seven wives of Baylor faculty members, the group adopted a study club format that reflected a tradition of similar clubs of that era as a continuing education avenue for women to benefit from intellectual pursuits; members researched topics and wrote and presented papers on their findings, volunteered with the Red Cross, and helped with wartime efforts; and

11 WHEREAS, Currently, President Judy Schmeltekopf leads the 12 300-woman club, whose membership now includes university faculty, 13 staff, and administrators, as well as wives of Baylor employees; 14 and

WHEREAS, Today, the round table's focus has expanded to 15 include funding an annual scholarship for an outstanding female 16 student and hosting social events such as a Thanksgiving dinner for 17 18 international students and a Christmas luncheon featuring serenades by Baylor music students; further, members assist 19 individuals new to the faculty as they settle into the close-knit 20 21 Baylor community; and

22 WHEREAS, Since 1904, the Baylor Round Table has been a 23 dependable source of support, camaraderie, and fellowship for 24 countless Texas women, and it is a distinct pleasure to join in

1

1 honoring the group on a significant milestone in its history; now,
2 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate the members of the Baylor Round Table on the joyous occasion of the club's centennial and that all those involved be extended sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the club as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

Mabry

H.R. No. 133

2

H.R. No. 133

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 133 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House