H.R. No. 152

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A strong, effective system of free public education 2 for all youth is essential to our democratic system of government;

3 and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, The United States has made considerable progress in the social, technological, and scientific fields due to our system of free and universal public education and to our qualified and dedicated teachers, who have equipped their students with the skills necessary to achieve their fullest potential; and

WHEREAS, Given the pivotal role that educators play in the lives of young people, the National Education Association and the National Parent Teacher Association are recognizing May 2-8, 2004, as Teacher Appreciation Week; at this time, it is a pleasure to honor an outstanding Texas educator, Marilyn J. Huff, for her exemplary contributions in the field of education; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Huff holds both bachelor's and master of arts degrees from Pan American University; after teaching three years in McAllen, she returned to her home of Edinburg, where she has taught at South Middle School for 24 years and served as head of the English department, touching the lives of countless students with her enthusiasm, kindness, and love of learning; and

WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Peña, in celebration of Teacher Appreciation Week, has appropriately recognized this remarkable educator for her steadfast commitment to public education; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 152

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby honor Marilyn J. Huff for
her exceptional efforts in behalf of her students and extend to her
sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Huff as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Peña

Н	D	$N \cap$	1 につ

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 152 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House