H.R. No. 174

By: Pena

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A strong, effective system of free public education for all youth is essential to our democratic system of government; and

WHEREAS, The United States has made considerable progress in the social, technological, and scientific fields due to our system of free and universal public education and to our qualified and dedicated teachers, who have equipped their students with the skills necessary to achieve their full potential; and

9 WHEREAS, Given the pivotal role that educators play in the 10 lives of young people, the National Education Association and the 11 National Parent Teacher Association are recognizing May 2-8, 2004, 12 as Teacher Appreciation Week; at this time, it is a pleasure to 13 honor an outstanding set of Texas educators, the third-grade staff 14 of Jefferson Elementary School in Edinburg, for their exemplary 15 contributions in the field of education; and

16 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of principal Dominga Vela, 17 third-grade teachers Yvonne Y. Garza, Leonel Pulido, Jr., Norma L. 18 Parks, and Sonia Garza have recorded a 100 percent achievement rate 19 for the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills test in the subject 20 of reading for the 2002-2003 and 2003-2004 school years; this lofty 21 accomplishment is a shining testament to these educators' skill and 22 commitment to academic excellence; and

23 WHEREAS, Representative Aaron Peña, in celebration of 24 Teacher Appreciation Week, has appropriately recognized these

1

1 remarkable educators for their steadfast dedication to public 2 education; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 174

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 4 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby honor the third-grade staff 5 of Jefferson Elementary School for their exceptional efforts in 6 behalf of students and extend to them sincere best wishes for 7 continued success; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for them as an expression of high regard by the Texas House 10 of Representatives.

2