H.R. No. 176

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Eleven outstanding young Texans have been selected 2 to participate in the Young Masters Program, a deserving 3 recognition of their commitment to excellence in their chosen art 4 form; and

5 WHEREAS, The Young Masters Program is funded through the 6 Texas Cultural Trust and is administered through a selective grant process by the Texas Commission on the Arts; the program provides 7 scholarships to promising school-age students who engaged in the 8 study of dance, theater, and the visual arts in Texas; each 9 participant receives a scholarship of up to \$2,500 per year for 10 11 three years to pursue advanced training in his or her artistic 12 discipline; and

WHEREAS, Recipients of the Young Masters awards are selected according to the following criteria: their needs due to either limited economic circumstances or geographic isolation; their potential and a high level of aptitude and skill in their chosen field; the quality of their designed plan of study; and the commitment by the student, instructor, and parents to succeed in the program; and

20 WHEREAS, This year's recipients have amply demonstrated 21 their dedication to their artistic discipline, and they have 22 committed themselves to pursuing their talents through intensive 23 training over the next three years; and

24

WHEREAS, These outstanding young men and women are Jonathan

1

H.R. No. 176

Campbell of Cedar Hill, Ngoc-Yen "Angela" Hoang of Houston, Chris
 Jenkins of Plano, Sofya Karash of Houston, Ei-Jane Janet Lin of
 Bellaire, Morgan Ashlee Morrow of Arlington, Brandie Phillips of
 San Angelo, Anna Michelle Reyes of Austin, Caitlin Tully of Austin,
 Stephanie Williams of Allen, and Charles Yang of Austin; now,
 therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
8 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate this year's
9 participants in the Young Masters Program and extend to them
10 sincere best wishes for future success and happiness; and, be it
11 further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for each student as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Hilderbran

2

H.R. No. 176

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 176 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House